A complete of 25teams have lifted a Liga MX crown in the 78years the league has remained in existence. Below is the complete list of groups that have actually won a Liga MX title.

You are watching: How many championships does chivas have



Jonathan Rodríguez the Cruz Azul kisses the trophy ~ winning the Torneo Guard1anes 2021 Liga MX (Getty).

Liga MX is the top skilled soccer organization in Mexico and also over its 78 year history the league has had many incarnations. Today, each season is divided into two tournaments, an Apertura and Clausura, and also like MLS, Liga MX has actually a playoff system where they crown the champion of every tournament.

Liga MX is by much the strongest North American league in CONCACAF, when MLS has actually been on the rise, Liga MX have gone to the forefront, together Mexican teams clearly dominate end every other league in CONCACAF through regards to budgets and also CONCACAF Champions organization titles.

Liga MX is additionally one of the many watched leagues in the joined States, as Mexican soccer games can be watched on Spanish Television and also various sports networks ~ above cable. So, without further ado below are every the Liga MX champions!

The following teams have all won one Liga MX title in your history: Asturias (1943–44), Real España (1944–45), Atlas (1950–51), Tampico Madero (1952–53), Marte (1953–54), Oro (1962–63), Tecos (1993–94), Atlético Morelia (Invierno 2000), Tijuana (Apertura 2012)

Both Zacatepec (1954–55, 1957–58) and also Veracruz (1945–46, 1949–50) have both won 2 Liga MX titles. Castle both winner these titles back when the layout was a consistent “European calendar” round robin. At the time Liga MX had in between 12 come 14 teams. Puebla won two championships in 1983 and 1990.

Teams with three titles

Atlante (1946–47, 1992–93, Apertura 2007) and also Necaxa (1994–95, 1995–96, Invierno 1998) have each won 3 titles. The Necaxa teams of the mid 90s were one of the finest teams in Mexican soccer history, led by Ecuadorian midfielder Álex Aguinaga, the club has never again to be able come reach together heights.

Monterrey and also their fivetitles

Los Rayados of Monterrey have 5 title in your trophy case and also are the existing Liga MX champions. Over the year the club has actually won the complying with titles: Mexico "86, Clausura 2003, Apertura 2009, Apertura 2010, and also Apertura 2019. The 2003 team led by Daniel Pasarella had actually a strong backbone and clutch players like Guillermo Franco, Walter Erviti, Jesus Arellano and Luis Perez.

Teams with six titles

Modern work success stories like Santos Laguna (Invierno 1996, Verano 2001, Clausura 2008, Clausura 2012, Clausura 2015, Clausura 2018) and Pachuca (Invierno 1999, Invierno 2001, Apertura 2003, Clausura 2006, Clausura 2007, Clausura 2016) have won many recent championships. Los Tuzos even won a Copa Suramericana and also 5 CONCACAF champion Leagues. Santos on the other hand won titles through two American players Edgar Castillo and also Herculez Gomez.

UNAM (1976–77, 1980–81, 1990–91, Clausura 2004, Apertura 2004, Clausura 2009, Clausura 2011) , and also TigresUANL (1977–78, 1981–82, Apertura 2011, Apertura 2015, Apertura 2016, Apertura 2017, Clausura 2019) have actually seven titles each, the three clubs have appreciated recent success but it’s to be Tigres who have actually made the many noise. The groups coached by Ricardo Ferretti have actually been powerhouses and made it to the finals of the Copa Libertadores in 2015, shedding to river Plate that Argentina.

Leónhave jumped increase one clues after winning the Guard1anes 2020 title. (1947–48, 1948–49, 1951–52, 1955–56, 1991–92, Apertura 2013, Clausura 2014, Guardianes 2020).

Cruz Azul and their 9 titles

Cruz Azul are among the much more traditional groups in Mexico, they fully dominated the 1970s to win 5 titles, in complete the club has won 9 (1968–69, 1970, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1973–74, 1978–79, 1979–80, Invierno 1997, Guard1anes 2021). La Maquina defeated Santos Laguna in the 2021 last (2-1 all at once result) to success their very first league trophy in 23 years.

Toluca and their 10 titles

Toluca have actually won a full of 10 title in your history, they were one of the ideal teams in Mexico throughout the late 90s and also early 2000’s win 4 titles in a three-year span. The Paraguayan striker José Saturnino Cardozo was one of the most lethal goal scorers in Liga MX background during that time, scoring 249 goals for the Red Devils. Toluca winner the complying with titles: 1966–67, 1967–68, 1974–75, Verano 1998, Verano 1999, Verano 2000, Apertura 2002, Apertura 2005, Apertura 2008, and Bicentenario 2010

Chivas and their 12 titles

Chivas the Guadalajara are among the most, if no the most, renowned teams in Mexico, they have won a total of 12 titles: 1956–57, 1958–59, 1959–60, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1969–70, 1986–87, Verano 1997, Apertura 2006, Clausura 2017. Recently while under Matías Almeyda the club won 5 title 1 league, 3 domestic cups, and also 1 worldwide title.

See more: What Is 98 Cm In Inches ) - 98 Cm To In 98 Centimeters To Inches

América and their deep pockets have won 13 titles, the most of any kind of team in Liga MX. The accolades span nearly every decade: 1965–66, 1970–71, 1975–76, 1983–84, 1984–85, Prode "85, 1987–88, 1988–89, Verano 2002, Clausura 2005, Clausura 2013, Apertura 2014, and Apertura 2018. To be ethical with the lot of security the team does castle should have more, yet the club has actually not always made the best an individual decisions. Nonetheless, América was standing number 1 together the peak team in Mexico.