If you have recently to be diagnosed with Celiac Disease, or are trying to monitor a gluten-free diet for wellness reasons, girlfriend are most likely a bit overwhelmed by every the dietary changes you room facing. As you think with your brand-new diet, it might be tempting come think that cheese is one food the you have the right to safely eat. Is cheese gluten-free? Well, unfortunately, even cheese and also cheese commodities can contain gluten, or deserve to be a target because that cross-contamination v wheat or gluten.

Not every brands or kinds of cheese space gluten-free. So, below is some information to help you make educated choices around adding cheese to her gluten-free diet.

You are watching: Is laughing cow cheese gluten free

Cheese that is labeling Gluten-Free

These days, numerous companies make it basic for your gluten-free consumers, and clearly label your cheese commodities as gluten-free. This companies incorporate Sargento, Boarshead, Kraft, Cabot and Organic Valley, and provide comprehensive information around their gluten-free commodities on their firm website. Even better, these carriers offer a wide selection of cheese to choose from. Essential Valley has actually over 30 kinds of gluten-free cheese consisting of American Singles, baby Swiss, Blue Cheese Crumbles, eight types of Cheddar, Feta, life cheese, Italian and also Mexican blends, Ricotta, 3 kinds of cable cheese, Provolone and also Pepper Jack. Together the gluten-free food industry proceeds to grow, it is coming to be easier and easier to pick up these types of assets at your regional grocery store.

The packaging for gluten-free cheese is also an extremely secure, making use of high quality vacuum packaging the keeps the cheese from coming in call with other assets during circulation from the cheese factory to the grocery store store.

Cheese that is not Labeled Gluten-Free

If the packaging does not say gluten-free, climate you will require to closely read the ingredient on the label before purchasing. As a rule, cheese with fewer ingredients has actually a much better chance of being gluten-free. A natural’ cheese, choose Swiss or Jack, might contain only three ingredients: milk, salt, and also enzymes, which way that it contains no gluten.

Processed cheeses, on the other hand, like American cheese usually include several various kinds of organic cheeses, choose Colby, Cheddar or Jack, and stabilizing emulsifiers, as well as butter, milk, milk protein concentrate, and whey powder. Processed cheeses might also use man-made colors and preservatives, which might contain gluten. Artificial color and stabilizers or thickeners regularly contain trace quantities of gluten, so must be avoided. Manufacturers room getting better at clearly identifying wheat based products, so girlfriend may even see wheat’ listed on the ingredients, making this unsuitable because that a gluten-free diet.

Shredded and also grated cheese can also be a potential problem, because the cheese might be lightly covered in starch, which may be wheat-based, or corn or potato. Again, be certain to review the label closely for any wheat starch.

Cottage Cheese


PinCottage Cheese
Cottage cheese often consists of some form of modified food starch’ as a thickener, to do it creamy and hold together. In the past, there was no means to call if this food strength was wheat, corn or potato-based, which offered many world the impression the cottage cheese was not appropriate for a gluten-free diet. But lately, numerous companies space being much more specific around the kind of food starch that they space using, and properly brand the ingredients. The FDA currently requires that any kind of starch that comes from wheat have to be plainly identified, therefore, if you execute not see a declare alerting you come wheat together an ingredient, or that it to be processed on devices that likewise processes what products, then the cottage cheese is gluten-free.

Deli Cheese

If you space a cheese connoisseur, you probably love going to the cheese deli, for imported assets from France, Switzerland, Germany and other nations with a enthusiasm for cheese. Unfortunately, deli cheese presents far-ranging problems for those complying with a gluten-free diet. Blue cheese prefer Roquefort or Stilton, contains mold that may be get an impressive on rye or in a wheat-based environment, and it’s practically impossible come tell if this is the case. So, blue cheese commodities must it is in avoided.

Another issue with deli cheese is the it is typically created as a large wheel that cheese and sent to the deli that way. The deli personnel then cut the cheese up for customers, and individually wrap them on-site. This process may present cross-contamination indigenous bread and also crackers likewise sold in the deli, or with a knife the is supplied to slice bread before cutting the cheese wheel. The plastic pack may have actually been offered previously to wrap sandwiches, presenting bread crumbs follow me the way. Therefore, you need to be extremely careful when choosing deli cheeses. Cheese that is wrapped in ~ the factory is generally preferred for those on a gluten-free diet.

Another trend for deli or artisanal cheese is beer-washed’ cheeses or washed-rind cheeses that room ripened with beer. Beer, the course, includes gluten, so even though this is an upcoming trend for cheese lovers, it is one the those of united state on a gluten-free diet cannot share.

Spreadable Cheese

Philadelphia brand cream cheese is gluten-free, so you deserve to use this together a base to do all species of gluten-free spreads. Some ideas include extending a block of cream cheese in jalapeno pepper, or chutney and also serving this v rice crackers. The can additionally be used to make terrific vegetable dip, by adding herbs, paprika and salt to taste.

Laughing Cow’s wedge cheese commodities are every gluten-free, including their Creamy initial Swiss, Creamy Queso Fresco Chipotle, and Creamy Garlic and Herb. These individually wrapped servings do a an excellent afternoon snack through almonds or gluten-free crackers.

But, other spreadable cheeses favor Boursin, cannot confirm that ingredients that are used in their product room not cross-contaminated by their suppliers. So, again, there is little means of knowing if these commodities are gluten-free.

See more: What Kind Of Dog Is In The Movie The Proposal '? What Type Of Dog Is In The Movie The Proposal

Hopefully this short article has listed you through some guidelines, and also delicious choices for including cheese to her gluten-free diet.